Politeness goes extinct!

Why are we being rude these days? Why don’t we try to be nice to others? Maybe because we are fed up. We are fed up with having to be nice to others or we’re being rude because it’s easier.

There isn’t even one day that passes by without watching someone in the street swearing at someone else because the latter hasn’t parked his car appropriately or hasn’t predicted that the light will be green in 3, 2, 1 GO!!!!!! It’s at least annoying and irritating. Even if  I am not involved in any of these daily incidents, I must admit that they affect me just as bad as those who actually are.

Sometimes, you can try and avoid these situations and not let them affect you but that is not always the case. More and more people feel frustrated, pressed and disappointed in their own lives. They wait and wait and wait till something triggers their primitive emotion to let it all out and who cares what happens next.

Limits don’t exist anymore. We don’t know where to draw the line or how far we can go. Admit it. It’s more convenient that way. But it’s also kind of harassing. Who gives anyone the right to abuse other people’s personalities? Imagine being in their shoes. Would you like that? Not at all.

Politeness, respect and good will have disappeared. In the past years they served a purpose. They weren’t there just for the fun of it. They showed people the way they could communicate and co-exist without trespassing on the patience and boundaries of one another. Today, we seem to be at a loss. We are all about to go BOOM and fight with each other for any trivial reason. We just need a reason. Any reason!

That is why, I am done. I won’t put up with it anymore. I will set my boundaries and my rules. I will be polite, kind and eager to help anyone who asks nicely, hoping that in this way I will influence others around me to do so as well. Even if I don’t manage to convince anyone else but myself, at least I will have gained my peace and quiet once again. 

This entry was posted in Society and Culture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Politeness goes extinct!

  1. admin says:

    One of my favorite artists says that when she gets cut off, or encounters a rude person she just bows and says “Namaste.” Thank you for reminding me of this! I might have to try it again and get back in the habit.

  2. Jyo Aadarsh says:

    From experience, life lessons are only learnt, they cannot be taught. The best is to make people aware and ignore them with love…. Love you! Jyo

Anything to say?

